20+ year of experience
If you were involved in a car accident and you were not at fault, you may be entitled to compensation.
So if you’re involved in a car accident in California, it’s important to know what makes a driver “at fault.” Several factors can contribute to an accident, with negligence being the most common.
This blog post will discuss the most common causes of accidents in California and what makes you at fault for each one.
The first thing you need to do is find out what the other driver was doing. If they were speeding, driving recklessly, or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they will be at fault for the accident.
Below are several reasons why the other driver may be at fault and why you may be entitled to compensation.
If the other driver has done any of the following, you need to call an experienced attorney immediately:
Making a phone call or texting while driving is one of California’sCalifornia’s most common causes of car accidents. But unfortunately, it’s also one of the most preventable causes of car crashes.
In California, state law prohibits cell phone use while driving.
Vehicle Code 23123.5(a) states:
“A person shall not drive a motor vehicle while holding and operating a handheld wireless telephone or an electronic wireless communications device unless the wireless telephone or electronic wireless communications device is specifically designed and configured to allow voice-operated and hands-free operation and it is used in that manner while driving.”
If you are caught texting and driving, you can be fined up to $159 for a first offense. You can also be charged with a criminal misdemeanor if you cause an accident while texting and driving.
According to Vehicle Code 23152, driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both is illegal in California. This crime is often referred to as a DUI or drunk driving.
If you are caught driving drunk, you can face jail or prison time, be fined up to $2000, and you may also be required to attend a DUI program.
You can also be charged with a felony if you cause an accident while drunk driving or have had other DUIs on your record.
Speeding is one of the most common causes of car accidents.
California has three types of speeding laws: a “basic speeding law,” “presumed speed limits,” and “absolute speed limits.”
In California, the maximum speed limit is 55 mph. If you are caught speeding, you can be fined up to $1000.
If you speed and cause an accident, you can face severe criminal charges, including reckless driving, attempted murder, and manslaughter criminal charges.
If you are facing criminal charges, contact us immediately.
Negligence is when a driver fails to take reasonable care while driving. This can include things like distracted driving, failing to signal, or driving while tired.
If you are negligent, you can be held liable for damages. Damages are commonly referred to as restitution. In addition, negligent driving can lead to criminal charges.
Distracted driving is any activity that takes your attention away from the road. This can include things like talking on the phone, eating, or even changing the radio station.
If you are caught distracted driving, you can be fined up to $1000.
Failing to signal is when a driver does not turn on their turn signal before making a turn. Failing to signal is dangerous because it can cause other drivers not to know where you are going.
If you fail to signal, you can be fined up to $100.
Driving while tired is dangerous because it can lead to accidents. If you are caught driving while fatigued, you can be fined up to $100.
If you were rear-ended, the other driver is considered to be at fault in California. Call us right now to discuss your matter. Call (866) 811-4255.
First, you should get any witnesses’ contact information to corroborate your story. Next, if you have dash cam footage, you should download and save the footage as soon as possible.
Most importantly, you need to call an attorney who can help you preserve the evidence and fight for your day in court.
If you were not at fault for the accident, then you may be able to file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver. This outcome is true even if the other driver was uninsured or underinsured.
If you have suffered injuries in an accident that was not your fault, contact an experienced car accident lawyer to discuss your case.
One of the most common questions we get is how much does an attorney at ALL Trial Lawyers cost for legal representation? You pay us nothing unless we win.
Our car accident attorneys work on a contingency fee basis, which means that you will only owe us if we win your case.
To learn more about how our fees are structured, contact us today for a free consultation.
If you have been involved in a car accident, it is important to seek medical attention right away. You should also contact an experienced car accident lawyer to discuss your legal options.
At the law firm of ALL Trial Lawyers, we offer free consultations with our car accident lawyers. We can help you understand your rights and determine if you are eligible for compensation. We have years of experience handling car accident cases and we know how to get the most out of them.
Contact us today to schedule a free consultation with one of our car accident lawyers. We will review your case for free and let you know what we can do to help.
Call now for a Free Consultation. Call (866) 811-4255.
We have an office location near you.
All fields are required. If you need immediate assistance, do not hesitate to call us at (866) 811-4255.